Magical Manoir with private pool Reviews

5 Bedrooms Holiday Villa in Dordogne Aquitaine, Montpeyroux
What they are saying
Terry Neale
United Kingdom

Beautiful, peaceful location with charming hosts!

A lovely manor house with many recreational facilities both indoor and outdoor. The location and countryside are beautiful with plenty to do nearby. The owners couldn't be more helpful.<br><br><br><br>

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: August 2011
Ben Tamblyn
USA

Amazing Location in the heart of rural France

We stayed at Le Manoir de Gurson last month travelling from Seattle. The location is great for families who just want to relax in a beautiful setting and you're close to great food and great wine which is a short drive away. In the summertime definitely check out the night markets that serve great rural french fare. Also check out St. Emillion which is also a short drive away.<br><br><br><br>Charmaine and Jeff were amazing hosts and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend Le Manoir to anyone looking for a unique French countryside vacation and can assure you'll be well looked after and have a truly unique and relaxing break.<br><br><br><br>

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: August 2011
Peter Jessop
United Kingdom

Beautiful surroundings, total relaxation

Have just spent a fabulous week at the Manoir de Gurson. Charmaine and Jeff are great hosts for who nothing is too much trouble. <p> The Manoir has good sized en-suite bedrooms of good quality. The lounge and dining room are well furnished and contain good quality furniture. Sky TV and a laptop are available if you want UK TV and to be able to maintain email contact. In addition there is a good selection of music. The kitchen is sizeable and contains fridge, freezer and dishwasher. The fridge size could be improved as I think you would struggle for space if there were 10 of you. It would also benefit from a few more serving dishes for large parties. <p> Most of our eating was outside on the terrace which had a great view over the three lakes. The outside furniture was standard white plastic with the only down side being there were only 3 sunbeds. The lakes were great and as two of our party fished many a pleasant relaxing moment was spent with a cold beer and a rod by the lake. Is a wonderful place for a relaxing week with friends or family. Location is very much in the country and we did have problems finding Le Manoir however Jeff has new signs and I think that will solve the problem. <p> Response (August 2011): We always want our Guests to have a lovely time here, and welcome suggestions. To make holidays even better, we have added several items: Indoors - The tv now has European channels in several languages; the fridge is large enough for a family of 12, but we can add another if requested; we have supplied several more serving dishes, large salad server, and extra utensils. Outside: there is a swing hammock, an outdoor table-tennis table is in place, and extra sunbeds are in hand; and the new Manoir road signs have been installed.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: July 2011
Kevin Jennings
United Kingdom

Beautiful house in wonderfully peaceful location

We arrived to an unexpectedly warm welcome where Charmaine & Jeff cooked us a wonderful BBQ with local wines; a great treat after a long drive from Kent. <p> Throughout our stay, we were made to feel very welcome by our hosts who live in the adjoining house to Le Manoir and they were always ready to assist with anything we needed from local information such as nearest shops, markets and vineyards to 'guided' mushroom hunts through the woods on the property. Our children enjoyed the horse riding and the grounds were a great place for adventure and exploration. <p> The accommodation was as we expected with great bedrooms/en-suite facilities, a huge living & dining room (that we hardly used due to the glorious weather) and a large family kitchen. Our stay was a totally relaxing and thoroughly peaceful experience and a good base for exploring the western end of the Dordogne. If you're a cyclist, the surrounding areas were an absolute pleasure to ride with great surfaces, no potholes and all motorists appearing extremely courteous. <p> We'd like to wish our hosts every success as they continue with their ongoing development plans for Le Manoir, which can only improve what is already a fantastic holiday destination for those who seek the tranquillity of the countryside rather than the crowds of the better known towns further east in the Dordogne Valley.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: July 2009
Charles Anderson
Russian Federation

A very warm, friendly atmosphere

I would recommend Le Manoir to anyone who wants an authentic rural experience in the Dordogne. Charmaine and Jeff are very friendly and make a real effort to keep guests happy. The Manoir itself is in a great location right next to a very pretty lake and surrounded by picturesque farms and countryside.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: June 2010
Sally Seaman
United Kingdom

Fantastic villa!

The welcome barbeque was wonderful, especially after the long drive, and the hospitality provided by Charmaine, Jeff and the children was unsurpassed! <p> Fabulous location, we spent many an evening drinking wine overlooking the lakes where, incidentally, my husband spent many happy hours fishing. <p> The photographs really do not do justice to the countryside. <p> The house was clean, well equipped and extremely comfortable. <p> Charmaine and Jeff were on hand to answer any questions we had (and to lend us bits and pieces on occasion!) but made sure we had as much privacy as we wanted. <p> The pool was lovely but not used as much as it could have been as the weather was a bit iffy (but better than England was!). <p> We had some lovely day trips out to St Émilion, St Foy le Grand, Bergerac etc. as well as visiting one or two vineyards and going horse riding (never again!). <p> We especially loved the night of the shooting stars where we were made comfortable on the front lawns to gaze heavenwards for hours! <p> The only drawback was the distance to the nearest shops / supermarkets so we had to be very organised with our shopping lists! <p> All in all a fantastic place, with wonderful hosts. Thank you very much for making our stay so memorable and we hope to see you again next year!

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: July 2010
Adelaide Johanssen
United Kingdom

5 star accommodation and surroundings

Having spotted Le Manoir de Gurson online we wondered whether our expectations would be met, none of our 11 strong group were disappointed... The Manoir was very clean, with extremely spacious rooms. Each bedroom had it's own style, delightfully comfortable beds and tastefully finished en suite bathrooms. All the facilities throughout the property were in good working order. The decor was classic (recently redecorated) and the beautiful furniture thoughtfully arranged. Charmaine and Jeff, who live next door, not only cooked us a delicious welcome BBQ, but throughout the booking process and our stay their 'can do' attitude was a fabulous. They were to hand to answer queries, offer suggestions of local markets and sightseeing visits and arranged local restaurant bookings/ wine tour and would have organised further activities if requested. We were made to feel as welcome additions to their family. Saying that our party had complete privacy, with the freedom to roam throughout the 98 acres and carry out whichever activities we had a whim to undertake (rowing / fishing / golf / table tennis / basketball...). The patio and swimming pool were areas we used the most, and perfect for BBQ's, reading in the shade, sunbathing and meals en-masse with breathtaking views in every direction. The property was perfect for our group (ages ranging from 6 to 75) and the location ideal for exploring the Dordogne region (although some of our party only left the Manoir a couple of times during our stay as they were more than content within the grounds). Since our return (only a couple of days ago) our glowing reviews of the property have prompted friends and colleagues to want to visit Le Manoir, and we hope to stay again in the not too distant future. I shouldn't really have written too glowing a review, as we don't want this place to become booked up / or to miss out on the opportunity of visiting Le Manoir in the future, however others should experience this place, it is stunning having so many positive attributes, impossible to include in this review... go visit!!

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: August 2010
Submit your own review for Magical Manoir with private pool

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image
Date of stay *
E.g., 2019-04-25
I can recommend this holiday home for
Please select up to three of the following options to best describe the type of holiday you think other guests will experience at this holiday home. (Max 3)
My detailed rating