Hibiscus Villa Borneo Reviews

3 Bedrooms Holiday Villa in Kudat, Sabah
What they are saying
Williams
United Kingdom

Stunning villa in an amazing country

Villa Hibiscus is in a stunning location with wonderful views out to sea set amongst a lovely tropical garden. <br><br>The space inside meant we weren't on top of each other the children could have lots of fun in the infinity pool whilst we could relax undisturbed. <br><br>We enjoyed the chefs cooking a few times and all the staff were very friendly. We will return hopefully with another family.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: April 2010
Helene
France

Luxe , calme et voluptée...

It was marvelous, and those few words of the french poet Baudelaire, describe well the feeling you have, enjoying such a beautifull house. <br><br>We enjoy the exceptionnal cooking facilities, the setting, the wonderfull swimming pool (mainly the kids !!) and the warm hospitality of all the staff !

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: August 2010
lorified
Philippines

Hibiscus Villa Exceeded all Expectations!

We would recommend Hibiscus Villa to anyone! It is a stunning, well appointed, & impeccably maintained house on a refreshingly private coastline. The artistic interiors compliment beautiful views & the nearby crash of the ocean. A short walk down the garden will have you at a breath-taking beach. One word: Sunset! Our group booked Hibiscus Villa (Halloween 2010) & received the royal treatment. The Villa itself is even more gorgeous than the photos, but what really touched our hearts was the personalized service. From the moment we arrived, Howard (the Caretaker) waited at the road to make sure we found the property. The staff, Francesca & Beatrice, greeted us upon arrival & were warm, professional, & helpful without being intrusive. We loved them & the professional chef who prepared our delicious evening meals. We would definitely recommed guests to avail of the chef's service. They wore uniforms & were constantly looking after our needs. Howard was amazing. He speaks Malay & couldn't do enough. From helping plan activities, to organizing dinners, no request was too small. What a pleasure! Howard really went out of his way to take us shopping in the market, running errands all over town, and loaning his own outdoors equipment. Additionally, the owners were very helpful and responsive during the booking process creating a seamless vacation experience. Hibiscus Villa is a gem. The interior design is fantastic; we received a ton of compliments from our photos and returned home relaxed & inspired. Hibiscus Villa is Borneo at it's best! Thank you - The Manila Crew

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: October 2010
Nathan
Canada

Ultimate Relaxation and comfort

This place was amazing. A ground of friends decided to spend some time together and relax and enjoy ourselves, we couldn't have picked a better spot. Extremely spacious, every amenity you could ask for, the staff were incredible, the scenery breath taking, just perfect. Spent three nights there, could've spent another 10 years. Just wonderful

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: October 2011
n maj
Singapore

At one with nature yet pampered

We were hesitating between Hibiscus Villa & the Shangri-La, and but am really glad we chose this. We were made to feel very welcome & were really well look after. Everything had a personal touch & the villa is amazingly well equipped and very tastefully decorated. The pool was a delight and the beach only a few minutes walk away was the most unspoilt and deserted I think I've ever been to.<br> <br>The chef was excellent, preparing the best seafood barbecue I can remember having. This place is a gem, and definitely hope to go back there.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: April 2011
arhay
United Kingdom

Beautiful and Well-Run

The chef has made a delicious dinner. The Sun falls into the sea followed by Mercury and then Venus. The frogs and geckos start the night chorus. The stars come out, the fireflies join them. It is another perfect night at Hibiscus Villa.<br>We rented a car in Kota Kinabalu and drove there in a little more than 3 hours. A car is a must and I would recommend a four wheel drive as there are great places to explore made easier with high clearance and traction. We used the owner's recommendation for our car rental , you should too. You will get a full run down of the many things to do from Howard, the villa manager, who is superb at his job; knowlegeable, pleasant, helpful, speaks the language and seems to know everyone in Northern Sabah. Or you can do nothing, as we often did and you can have absolutely no regrets about it. Minor points off for lack of easy beach access, slippy, steep trail that kind of ends short of the mark. I suspect that by the time you get there, that will have been fixed. And also lack of internet access, which my wife actually thought was a plus and perhaps she is right. Internet is 5 minutes away by car at the Tip Top Cafe if you have to have it.<br>Use Jay the chef. He is masterful and very convenient. Why cook? Why shop? He does it all for you. We stopped in KK to pick up snacks and drinks but probably left half of it behind when we left.<br>This a great place to escape to. Pampered, safe, beautiful and far from the tourist scene. Suitable for large groups but just as suitable as a romantic getaway for two.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: October 2011
Paul
United Kingdom

Luxury, Privacy and Peace

We were lucky enough to stay at the Hibiscus Villa with family and my 2 young sons. To my knowledge this is the only villa of this type and standard in the whole of Sabah, Malaysian Borneo. <br><br>The villa was luxurious, very large, new, with a real feeling of privacy with stunning views out over the sea. Attention has been paid to the decor / furnishings, and the whole place seems to complement the beautiful surroundings. Main feature is a large pool that also enters the main area of the house, a feeling of bringing the outside in. <br><br>We took advantage of the personal chef and his staff for a very special (but reasonably priced) dinner in house where they prepared local dishes for us using super fresh produce. 2 v friendly and helpful maids were in on a regular basis to look after the villa and prepare breakfast for us in the outside dining cabana. <br><br>The Gardens and facilities were excellent, even a separate shallow pool for the kids. Loungers and a second cabana hut with places to doze. The villa is overlooking the seafront, taking a few mins to walk through the private gardens down to the empty pristine white sandy beach, sea was calm and blue, children and us loved the feeling of privacy, no-one else on it. <br><br>Howard the villa manager (British) was excellent upon check in, with regular checks into the villa and only a phone call away for any questions. Food also available from Howards restaurant that can be delivered to the Villa. Private (but unobtrusive) 24 hour security was on hand controlling access to the Villa. One of the highlights was the night sky, fantastic sunsets followed by clear skies full of stars, with no light pollution. I seemed to sleep very deeply (something about the air I think) in the four poster bed in the master bedroom. An large upstairs and downstairs lounge area with masses of room for us all to spread out and enjoy the property and private grounds. <br><br>A real luxurious peaceful rest for us all in this one of a kind property and would recommend to all.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: October 2011
HongKong 025
Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China

Beautiful Villa in a remote, stunning spot

A group of friends with young children - 1 to 3 years, stayed for a week. Beautiful villa. Very good for children. Take advantage of the chef as he produced many wonderful meals. A very beautiful area. Recommended.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: January 2012
CE Fender
Australia

Private stunning location!

Upon arrival at Hibiscus we were greeted by the staff and by Howard the property manager who gave us a quick run down of the house and things to do in the area.<br><br>The house is stunning with an infinity pool and lots of spots to just sit and relax. The private beach was stunning too and an adventure to get to along a windy bushy path. Lots of mozzies though on the way there.<br> <br>The chef Jay was amazing. We enjoyed his meals very much. Howard took us to Kudat and we hit the market and bought all the weird and wonderful fruits and vegetables specific to the region such as Tarap fruit and a type of Jackfruit endemic to Borneo. Hmmm... but we weren't able to match Jay's cooking skills so he cooked for us most nights. In retrospect we would have loved to have done a cooking course with him.<br> <br>Howard was fantastic and helped us with everything. He organized a bush walk for us and set up his mozzie-screened hammock for one of us to sleep in in the bushes outside the Villa and he gave us the tour of Kudat.<br>Howard also runs the Tip Top restaurant at the tip of Borneo, only 5 minutes from Hibiscus. There is wifi avaiable at Tip Top though it can be slow at times. Cold beers and a small but nice menu are also available at Howard's restaurant. Try the local ceviche or the Ikan Bilis as a snack with a cold beer...<br> <br>There are a lot of stunning bays a only drive away from the Villa.<br> <br>Renting a car is a must - we rented two sedans in KK for 6 of us and this worked out really well. The roads are pretty good so no need for a 4wd unless you really want to go bush.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: January 2012
Submit your own review for Hibiscus Villa Borneo

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image
Date of stay *
E.g., 2019-04-25
I can recommend this holiday home for
Please select up to three of the following options to best describe the type of holiday you think other guests will experience at this holiday home. (Max 3)
My detailed rating