Bridgefield Guest House Reviews

8 Bedrooms Holiday House in Bussel Highway, margaret river
What they are saying
Soccer Buzz
Australia

Our first trip to Margaret River

We stayed recently in the Merlot room and we were made most welcome upon our arrival and were informed that we also had use of the main sitting room after hours (once reception had closed). <br><br>The room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Although the main road is nearby, we did not hear the noise. <br><br>The location of Bridgefield is only a short stroll to cafes etc. Also very closeby to good bushwalks. We would definately stay again.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: February 2012
Aus FridgeMagnet
Australia

Great location, depends on noise of other guests

Great location, nice room on the whole. Two main criticisms:<br>1. Tea & Coffee Facilities for another room were located immediately outside our room, which created undesired noise for our stay<br>2. Thin walls do not work well when you have inconsiderate guests staying up till all hours talking in their rooms or outside, and cigarette smoke would come into the room from outside<br><br>The bathroom/toilet, if used in the middle of the night, would require closing of the internal doors and curtains to avoid making noise or waking one's companion up by the light going on, it is very handy when it is in a separate room with a simple solid door.<br><br>Road noise was not heard short of the occasional truck.<br><br>Restaurant attached was good though very basic breakfast unless you wanted to pay prices which I would consider exorbitant

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: February 2012
Schaule
Australia

Old but well maintained hotel

The hotel has a very good location. Directly at the entrance of Margaret River town, but away from all the noisy tourist pubs. But nice restaurants and supermarkets are still in walking distance. An old hotel but well maintained with friendly service staffs. We stayed for 2 nights in the main building. All the rooms in the main building are pretty small and have no wardrobes inside. Due to the thin walls, the rooms are very clairaudient. We are quite disappointed by the lack of cleanliness in the bath room. Both shower cabin and bath tub have not been cleaned since last visiting. Breakfast is included in the room rate but is very limit, which is quite different to our European understanding of such a "continental breakfast

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: February 2012
The Plain
United Kingdom

Very small

This was a lovely 'heritage' guest house, but our room was so small that it had no chairs, no room to put down a suitcase and nowhere to hang or put away clothes. The air con was in the bathroom and the room only had a ceiling fan and no windows! The breakfast however was excellent. We agree with the comments about the owner's indifference to complaints although after two nights we were upgraded.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: January 2012
Jean Morrison
Australia

Bridgefield

For those who don’t know Margaret River: this tourist town has the Bussell Highway running right up the main street. At times the road can be quite busy with a mixture of cars and heavier vehicles. If you stay in accommodation that is close to this main road then you will almost certainly have traffic noise to contend with to some extent unless you are a heavy sleeper. The bonus of staying at accommodation in the main street is that you are within close walking distance of restaurants, bars and shops.<br><br>Bridgefield is located on the main road but we chose it because we didn’t want to have to drive back and forth, in and out of town from a B&B location which could be 10 kilometres or more out of town. We wanted to relax over a meal in one of the town’s delightful restaurants knowing that we could then wander back to our accommodation on foot.<br>We chose the Champagne room. It is upstairs in the newer section and further back from the road than other rooms that are located in the “old” historic part of the complex. The room was beautifully appointed and Bruce pointed out the bottle of wine that was in the fridge waiting for us. It was instantly visible that care had been taken in choosing the furnishings. The bed was comfy with delightful bed linen. There is a private verandah outside the French doors where we sat each evening. It is an area fronted by trees so we felt secluded. The en-suite bathroom is wonderful. It is very roomy with both a spa and a shower. The towels were soft and white. There is an air-conditioner, TV etc. and masses of cupboard/wardrobe room. The room and bathroom were very clean.<br><br>The first night we were there was unusually hot by Margaret River standards. We attempted to sleep with the air-conditioner on but found it quite noisy so we had to resort to shutting it off and keeping the French doors open. This of course let in more traffic noise than we would have liked. We pointed out the air-con problems to Bruce the next morning. It was Saturday so we realized nothing could be fixed with the air-con for our second night. Bruce kindly lent us the large pedestal fan that sits in the lounge room. We found Bruce to be quite helpful.<br><br>A continental breakfast at Nathalies Restaurant (on the same block of land) was quite decent and was complimentary. We ate there one night too but although the food was excellent we found the prices rather high for our budget. But then this is a tourist town and prices for many things are more expensive here.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: March 2012
Eva Melb
Australia

Tasteful and quirky

We knew we would enjoy our stay at the Bridgefield Guest House as soon as we walked through the front door and were confronted by Bruce, the friendly owner. The furnishing in the reception area, as all parts of the guest house were an eclectic mix of contemporary, Art Deco, Art Nouveau and just 'old stuff' with some lovely oriental ceramics thrown into the mix. However, it was all put together with such flair and good taste that it just works beautifully with the wooden paneling that pervades. We were particularly taken with the old red leather senate seats and desk.<br>We stayed upstairs in the Champagne room with it's own little balcony where we spent one evening grazing on Margaret River delicacies, picked up that morning at the wonderful Farmer's Market. All washed down, of course, with some fine MR wines. A perfect evening.<br>The bathroom was spacious with a separate shower and a small (but effective) spa.<br>The bed was comfy with high quality linen. Curtains and wooden shutters worked well in keeping out the morning sun.<br>The complimentary bottle of bubbles that awaited us on arrival was much appreciated after a three hour drive down from Perth.<br>Continental breakfast was served in Nathalies Restaurant in the same building (but not owned by the same people) and was included. We didn't have the cooked breakfast, but for just $10 extra, it looked like good value. The cold breakfast was very adequate with a variety of juices, cereals, yoghurts, fruits, breads and pastries and preserves. More than enough to fill us up for the day.<br>It needs to be said that the room was noisy - but that's the price we were prepared to pay to be conveniently located in the heart of the MR township. We sleep with the windows and doors open - I suspect the noise would be less if one closed these. For those sensitive to street noise, bring ear-plugs. The traffic isn't too bad through the night, but seems to start up at about 5 in the morning. On the positives side, we were a 5 minute stroll to the restaurants, shops and cafes of the township which meant no driving was needed when we went out for a meal and a few drinks.<br>Overall, we loved this place - just one little gripe - with the attention to detail throughout the whole establishment, I was rather shocked to open the wardrobe and find a motley array of wire and plastic coat hangers. Such a small thing really, but some people are fussy about what they hang their good clothes on. A few wooden hangers would have been nice.<br>Thanks for a lovely weekend.

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: March 2012
Elysium 333
Thailand

Lovely owner, fantastic location, good value.

We arrived in Margaret river looking for accommodation for one night that was centrally located. We found that most of the places were full so we "walked in" and booked with Bruce for one night stay. We were given an astoundingly good rate for the larger room with kitchen and double bed and one single bed. Our room was separate with a little balcony and It was located behind the restaurant and far from the road, we had no complaints at all about noise.<br><br>The owner bruce was exceptionally nice - one of the kindest most thoughtful hotel owners I have experienced.<br><br>I would thoroughly recommend this place to stay but with the following recommendations - the rooms do seem to vary a lot as the place is historical. If you are looking for a standard hotel room with no "quirks" or individuality I would suggest you look elsewhere.<br><br>Also it is centrally located if you re looking for peace and quiet away from any roads try google earth people!!! Book a place out in the wilderness don't book a hotel in a town and then complain about the road. Also, again it's an older place if you are the type to complain aout things that are a but different book a holiday inn or something.<br><br>For us, this place was Good value for money, and a real gem in the Margaret river town.<br><br>For the few you wrote nasty things about this place, i suggest you take your holidays in Perth or Melbourne and book at a Raddison or other similar large corporate box room. You don't belong in Margaret river which exists for places like this!!!<br>Less

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: April 2012
Jo E
Australia

Too close for company

This Heritage listed hotel looks the part and price wise is pretty good, however I can't remember where the rooms were so small that the tea making facilities were outside! Also, make sure your best friend is in the next room The walls are so thin you can hear a conversation, never mind the ablutions!

[Read more]
Was this review helpful? Yes | No Positive vote: /
Date of stay: May 2012
Submit your own review for Bridgefield Guest House

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Image CAPTCHA
Copy the characters (respecting upper/lower case) from the image
Date of stay *
E.g., 2018-09-21
I can recommend this holiday home for
Please select up to three of the following options to best describe the type of holiday you think other guests will experience at this holiday home. (Max 3)
My detailed rating